top of page

Why Siena?


Before moving to Siena, I never thought that I might one day study here. I didn’t deem it as something unattainable...I just didn’t know that Siena even existed. For me, when I used to dream about visiting Italy the first destinations that popped into mind were Rome, Florence, and Milan. So when the idea of studying abroad in Siena was first presented to me, my thoughts were: “Italy? Yay! Siena? Who…?” It didn’t deter my excitement for Italy, it actually increased my curiosity. Why have I not heard of Siena? What is its importance to Italy? Can I survive here for 3 months? Obviously, I decided to travel across the Atlantic to answer these questions. Now that my time is beginning to come to a close, I want to share some of the great things I’ve experienced in this city. I could give you a million reasons why you should plan a trip to Siena immediately, but I’ve condensed it down my 5 favorite reasons for both of our sakes…

1. Siena is small and easily navigable. This was my first time traveling to Europe so I was terrified of using public transportation. As someone who has used public transportation for most of her life, I am completely ashamed of the last line I just typed. But cut me some slack here. Many European cities are designed differently and there are language barriers, so I believe my nervousness was justified. Imagine my relief when I realized that in Siena, you don’t even have to worry about a metro, train, or bus because everything is in walking distance. Well, almost everything. If something happens to be a bit too far, there are taxis readily available to get you to your destination. Now I won’t lie to you, Siena is a bit daunting when you first arrive. The medieval architecture and hilly landscape make all of Siena’s roads look similar. But once you figure out that most roads lead to the Piazza del Campo, which is the city center, it’s smooth sailing for the rest of your stay.

2. Staying in Siena provides you with easy access to surrounding cities and countries. Although Siena provides you with more than enough to do, it’s smart to take advantage of travel opportunities. While living here for the past 3 months, I’ve traveled to Montepulciano, San Gimignano, Buonconvento, Pienza, Florence, Rome, and Positano. I even managed to fit in another country and stayed in Paris for a weekend. Buses and trains travel to and from Siena daily, making it the perfect homebase. Also, buses and trains are relatively inexpensive (just book them early!). As I mentioned before, Siena is small, so unlike other larger cities getting to the bus and the train station is quick and easy.

3. In Siena, your health will improve. Not only are you walking everywhere, but the food you are eating is all fresh and local. Eating a hunk of focaccia with pecorino cheese doesn’t feel like an indulgment when I’m walking uphill for 15 minutes right afterwards. Everything is balanced. You can enjoy a wide selection of local Italian breads and wines, and then go shopping for some of the freshest produce you’ll find. I recommend the cavolo nero or “black cabbage” which is a type of Tuscan kale. It has become one of my favorite greens here and is absolutely delicious. I also find myself eating more vegetables here because they’re dirt cheap. Eating organic and healthy isn’t a luxury like it seems to be in the United States. Here, vegetables are cheaper than most foods. A loaf of multigrain bread costs €0.75 (only 79 cents in the U.S.). What we pay for fast food is what Italians pay for real food. Oh and fast food? Virtually nonexistent. There is one McDonald’s and it’s right outside of the city wall. Honestly, you won’t even crave it with all the delicious food at your fingertips on every corner. In Siena, paninoteche and pizzerias line every street. There is no shortage of restaurants and shops to explore. With all of the healthy eating and walking, I’ve noticed a change in my level of energy. Now it could be that I’m just generally happy to be living in Siena but I think it’s also safe to assume that these other aspects have affected me as well.

4. Siena is an important cultural center for Italy. Generally, Italy is more known for their Renaissance art. Leonardo Da Vinci, Michelangelo, and Caravaggio are all well known names. Siena is special because it has preserved lots of art and architecture from the Middle Ages. So if you’re interested in pre-Renaissance art, Siena is the place you need to be. You can find medieval towers near the Piazza del Campo and religious iconography in the Palazzo Publico. These works are important because medieval art and architecture is often overlooked, but through studying these you can gain a deeper understanding about the development of Western culture. It’s also just absolutely stunning. I recommend having a glass of wine in the Campo while sitting in front of the Torre Del Mangia. The view will leave you in awe.

5. Siena has a welcoming energy. This is more abstract than my previous reasons, but I feel that it is something important to note. Before coming here, I was stressed out about language barriers and not being able to adjust. Of course, you will feel like an outsider initially. Italy is not your home. But I quickly fell into a routine and made connections with people here. Giovanna at Philadelphia Bar always lets me DJ when I come in and serves a delicious sangria. Ali at the Ciaccineria was kind enough to give me a slice of pizza when I left my euros at the apartment. The local students here are always ready to engage and have fun with you. Il Masgalono gifted Luke and I with glasses of limoncello because we helped clear the table. The bartender at Bella Vista knows my favorite drink...the strawberry one. I had language barriers in all of these encounters, but we all found our own unique ways to communicate. Kindness, in every situation, was the common language.

In reality, the reasons you should visit and/or study in Siena are endless. I could continue arguing how remarkable Siena is forever, but a blog post won’t do it justice. If you have the opportunity, seize it. This is a city that will stay in your heart and memory. Siena has definitely found its place in mine.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page